Freedom of the Parish

Following the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009, Parish Councils now have the power to award the Freedom of the Parish.

Considerations for this are:

  •  Should be awarded in recognition of exceptional contribution or service to the community over a prolonged period of time to a person of distinction.
  •  Can be awarded to any resident of the Parish, or person outside the Parish, who renders an identifiable and consistent contribution/service to the Parish of Creswell.
  •  Can be proposed by any resident in the Parish or by Parish Councillors.
  •  Parish Councillors will have absolute discretion regarding who receives and award.
  •  It is not necessary to award if no-one is proposed and it is not a requirement that anyone is appointed even if proposed.

 This is an award, solely in the gift of the Council and confers no material honours or special privileges nor does it entitle the person to participate in the proceedings of the Council meetings or in any ceremonial events. It is purely and simply awarded for merit.

Anyone wishing to nominate an individual for a freedom should contact the Clerk.


Presentation of Freedom of the Parish - Inaugural Freedoms -

28th July 2013

At a special meeting of the Council held on 15th July 2013 it was decided that to reflect the end of the 50th anniversary of the Parish that Freedom of the Parish would be awarded to the following individuals:

Mr Henry Hidderley -    in recognition of his exceptional service to Creswell Parish and people of Creswell over many  decades.

Mr Tom Doubtfire - in recognition of his exceptional service as Chairman, Vice Chairman and Clerk.

Mr Richard Thomas - in recognition of his exceptional service to Creswell Parish during 30 years of service as Councillor.

These were presented at the service marking the end of the 50th anniversary year of the Parish of Creswell on 28th July 2013 at Seighford Church.